Complete River System Of India-source,origin,Map,image,route,state,flow-[most imp rivers of india]

river system of india

river system of India can be classified into four groups -
1. Himalayan rivers
2. Deccan (peninsular) rivers
3. Coastal rivers and
4. Extraction of inland water of rivers.

Luni, Machu, Banas, Rupen, Saraswati and Ghagghar are examples of rivers with inland drainage, that is, they are not empty in the sea, but are lost in the sand.

Suvarnarekha, Vaasadhara, Nagawali, Vaigai, Netravati and Sharvati are examples of coastal rivers.

The longest river in India is Ganges or Ganges, followed by Godavari, Yamuna, Krishna and Narmada.

The longest river flowing in India is the Indus which emerges in Tibet and enters Pakistan before flowing in the Arabian Sea.

Ganga is also known as Bhagirathi because the King Bhagirath was responsible for bringing it from heaven to earth. The part of Ganges river that flows in Bangladesh is known as Padma.

Most of the Indian rivers flow into the Bay of Bengal but some people like Narmada, Tapti, Netravati and Periyar flowing in the Arabian Sea.

The five rivers of Punjab are Sutlej, Ravi, Beas, Jhelum and Chenab.

The Godavari river is also known as South Ganga

The Brahmaputra is known in Yarlung Tsangpo in Tibet and in the Arunachal Pradesh as the Dihang. 

The river Brahmaputra is known as Jamuna in Bangladesh.

River known as Singi Khamban (Lion's mouth) in Tibet river, Indus

The harrowing river of Bengal is called Damodar river

It is believed that Prayag or Allahabad is considered as Sangam (Sangam) of these rivers Ganga, Yamuna and Puranic Saraswati.

The number of Indian rivers classified as major rivers by the government is twelve.

There are three Trans-Himalayan rivers which are produced in the Upper Tibetan Plateau and cut into the powerful Himalayan ranges. Indus, Brahmaputra, and Sutlej.

most important list of Indian Cities on Rivers Bank- rivers state wise

Post a Comment